How to compress PDF and check the size of the result
Try reducing the PDF size to fit your email or upload form.
What to prepare
You can add: PDF. The allowed size and number of files are indicated on the tool page.
Procedure
Add files
Add one PDF. Find out the acceptable file size from the recipient and remember the size of the original file. It is important to maintain readability of text and images.
Select settings
First, select "Optimize PDF structure." This mode attempts to make the file smaller without intentionally degrading the images. If this is not enough, select “Compress Images” and reduce the quality.
Click the button
Read the terms of processing and confirm your consent. Click “Compress PDF” and wait until it’s ready. If an error appears, read the message and check the file, text, or settings.
Save and check
Compare the original and final size using the compression report. Open the PDF and check the small text, scans and photos. Download the document separately from the text report.
Tool Options
Some fields appear after selecting a mode. The default settings are shown here; They are subject to change on the website.
- Mode
Try to reduce the PDF without deliberately degrading the pictures, or compress the pictures themselves with possible loss of detail.
- Quality
With a lower value, the file may become smaller and small details may be less visible. This is not a percentage reduction in size.
Good to know
The file doesn't always get smaller. If it is already well compressed, the size may not change much or even increase. The number in the quality field does not indicate by what percentage the PDF will be reduced.
Frequently asked questions
Where is the processing performed?
The file or text is sent to the server for processing. Before starting, read the terms and conditions on the tool page and agree to it. Download the finished result before the expiration date indicated on the page.
What to do if the result is not suitable?
Take the original file or text and try other settings in the steps above. Compare the new result with the previous one. The original files on your device remain unchanged.